Tips for Exchange Server administrators

1) “A sound Exchange Server in a sound Active Directory and DNS infrastructure”, that’s what I say. Since 95% of all Exchange Server errors are DNS and/or Active Directory related (statistics provided by me, so they are as skewed, partial and invalid as can be), you first have to keep your AD and DNS running smoothly.

2) Never let an Exchange Mailbox Server handle more than a 1,000 users. You’ll thank me later. Or, now. Now is a good time, actually ๐Ÿ™‚ OK, there is hardware that can enable Exchange Server to handle more than 1,000 users, but are you sure you have it? Will you be able to perform backups easily? Will they finish quickly? Will you able to restore everything super easily and super quickly? If not, then each server should handle 1,000 users at most. At most! ๐Ÿ™‚

3) Documentation, documentation, documentation. Document everything. Every procedure, every change, every event. Obsessive Compulsive Disorder is a nice trait for an Exchange administrator to have ๐Ÿ™‚ You also have to be able to rebuild the whole infrastructure at a moment’s notice, should the need arise. Therefore, you should also document the disaster recovery procedure as clearly as possible. You have to be confident and to be able to prove your confidence to yourself and to upper management. Demonstrate full restores to dissimilar hardware at a different network, either in a lab or a disaster recovery site.

About Dimitrios Kalemis

I am a systems engineer specializing in Microsoft products and technologies. I am also an author. Please visit my blog to see the blog posts I have written, the books I have written and the applications I have created. I definitely recommend my blog posts under the category "Management", all my books and all my applications. I believe that you will find them interesting and useful. I am in the process of writing more blog posts and books, so please visit my blog from time to time to see what I come up with next. I am also active on other sites; links to those you can find in the "About me" page of my blog.
This entry was posted in Administration. Bookmark the permalink.