ISA Server 2004 Training Kit issues, 2nd post

In this post, I list the answers in Part 2 of the book that I found to be incorrect or inconsistent with information found in Part 1 of the book.

**PAGE 13-24** Objective 1.2, Question 7 and Question 8.
There are serious inconsistencies in the answers of these two questions. According to Part 1, which is correct, Enterprise Edition is not supported on Windows 2000 Server, the Enterprise Configuration Server can be installed on a stand-alone server or on a Domain Controller and the Enterprise Configuration Server does not store its configuration in Active Directory; instead it stores it in Active Directory Application Mode (ADAM).

**PAGE 13-32** Objective 1.3, Question 3.
Answer C is the best answer and almost correct. But to be exactly correct, it should have been E:\FPC\SETUP.EXE /X /QN FULLPATHANSWERFILE=\F:\MSISAUND.INI

**PAGE 14-9** Objective 2.2, Question 2.
The answer is correct (A. Application.ini). But, as far as the incorrect answer B is concerned, I think that there is no file named configuration.ini. I think there is an error here, because in the explanation, configuration.ini is said to do what common.ini does. Thus, the incorrect answer B should have been “B. Common.ini”.

**PAGE 14-14** Objective 2.3, Question 1.
The answer is correct. But in one of the wrong answers, configuration.ini is mentioned in the explanations as if it is a file that does exist (although not corresponding to the correct answer).

**PAGE 14-15** Objective 2.3, Question 2.
The correct answer (B) has a typo. It should read “webserver.fabrikam.internal” instead of “webserver.fabrikam.com”.

**PAGE 16-7** Objective 4.1, Question 6
There is a typo here. It should read “The pages on the perimeter network web server computer” instead of “The pages on the perimeter network ISA Server 2004 computer”

**PAGE 16-7** Objective 4.1, Question 7.
There is a serious issue here. The load factors are 40, 60, 120. These load factors correspond to 100% and 200% improvements rather than 200% and 300% improvements.
If something is 40 and goes to 80, this corresponds to 100% improvement.
If something is 40 and goes to 120, this corresponds to 200% improvement.
If something is 60 and goes to 120, this corresponds to 100% improvement.

**PAGE 16-14** Objective 4.2, Question 1 and Question 2.
Part 1, on page 6-15, states that active caching has been disabled in ISA Server 2004.

**PAGE 17-9** Objective 5.1, Question 7.
This question is entirely correct. I just disagree with what it asks. If I were writing the question, I would not ask what can be done to allow access. Instead, I would ask what would be the most probable reason that access is denied. And the answer would be that the users are also members of another group.

**PAGE 17-20** Objective 5.3, Question 2.
I think that something is wrong here. We are talking about HTTPS to HTTPS bridging. So, the certificate in the ISA Server computer must match the name browsers use to access the site and the certificate in the web server must match the name the publishing rule uses to access the web server. Answer C would be correct if the certificate was installed on the web server rather than the ISA Server computer.

**PAGE 17-22** Objective 5.3, Question 6.
Answers A and B are correct. Answers C, D and E are incorrect. Answer B is correct because of what pages 7-50 and 7-51 state. Answer C is incorrect, because the Russian language requires characters above the ASCII 127 value.

**PAGE 17-34** Objective 5.4, Question 2.
There is something wrong here. The third goal is a subset of the first goal. One would expect that each goal would be different than the others. Also, the second step
(“Update the MX record in the Contoso.com zone to point to gateway.contoso.com”) is not needed, because from the question we learn that the MX record already points there.

**PAGE 17-44** Objective 5.5, Question 5.
There is a typo in the answers. Answer A should be added in the list of correct answers.

**PAGE 18-5** Objective 6.1, Question 3.
The following is purely a matter of opinion. I think that answer A is also correct, because when we say that a password must meet complexity requirements, this means that we already have the Enforce Password Complexity policy set.

**PAGE 18-26** Objective 6.3, Question 10.
There is a typo here. Instead of “Choose the best answer”, it should read “Choose all that apply”.

**PAGE 19-6** Objective 7.1, Question 3.
In order for answer E to be included in the list of correct answers, it should be changed from “VPN Quarantined Clients sessions” to “Number of VPN Quarantined Clients sessions”.

**PAGE 19-16** Objective 7.2, Question 2.
Something is wrong here. I think that the correct answers are C, D and E.

About Dimitrios Kalemis

I am a systems engineer specializing in Microsoft products and technologies. I am also an author. Please visit my blog to see the blog posts I have written, the books I have written and the applications I have created. I definitely recommend my blog posts under the category "Management", all my books and all my applications. I believe that you will find them interesting and useful. I am in the process of writing more blog posts and books, so please visit my blog from time to time to see what I come up with next. I am also active on other sites; links to those you can find in the "About me" page of my blog.
This entry was posted in Administration. Bookmark the permalink.