Redefining the whole networking paradigm

On December 17, 2008, I wrote a post titled “Hosted services with a vengeance“.

In that post, I argued that hosted services are not trying to fool us by changing their name to Cloud Services, but they provide new options and real value.

I guess I was right.

I just read the 6-page paper monsoon-presto08.pdf titled “Towards a Next Generation Data Center Architecture: Scalability and Commoditization”, which I downloaded from http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/people/dmaltz/papers/monsoon-presto08.pdf

The paper is about how Microsoft (as a cloud provider) is building its cloud services data center network.

I was really impressed.

These guys are redefining the whole networking paradigm.

About Dimitrios Kalemis

I am a systems engineer specializing in Microsoft products and technologies. I am also an author. Please visit my blog to see the blog posts I have written, the books I have written and the applications I have created. I definitely recommend my blog posts under the category "Management", all my books and all my applications. I believe that you will find them interesting and useful. I am in the process of writing more blog posts and books, so please visit my blog from time to time to see what I come up with next. I am also active on other sites; links to those you can find in the "About me" page of my blog.
This entry was posted in Cloud. Bookmark the permalink.