My idea for a toddler’s puzzle game involving tessellation

There are games they give to small children, that have them place shapes in equivalent holes, like in the image below:

ExistingGame

I will not give you the solution (which brown object goes to which hole), I will leave it as an exercise.

OK, great game, I like it, I guess it is entertaining for the children and at the same time helps doctors determine the children’s abilities.

I have an idea for a game such as this, only a little bit harder and for older children, that involves tessellation.

The child can be given one or more shapes and the goal is to fill the area with no spaces in between (thus, perform tessellation).

We can instruct the child to do tessellation using regular triangles (equilateral), then regular rectangles (squares, man!) and then regular hexagons to do tessellation, since we know that these are the only regular shapes that can tessellate.

We can also instruct more advanced children to perform more advanced tessellations using more than one shape or an irregular shape, like the irregular pentagon that was just invented for tessellation purposes.

About Dimitrios Kalemis

I am a systems engineer specializing in Microsoft products and technologies. I am also an author. Please visit my blog to see the blog posts I have written, the books I have written and the applications I have created. I definitely recommend my blog posts under the category "Management", all my books and all my applications. I believe that you will find them interesting and useful. I am in the process of writing more blog posts and books, so please visit my blog from time to time to see what I come up with next. I am also active on other sites; links to those you can find in the "About me" page of my blog.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.