Why most IT projects fail

A project might fail for lots of reasons. The same reasons apply to IT projects. But there are also extra reasons as to why an IT project might fail.

To undertake an IT project, you need two things: infrastructure and experience.

Some IT project managers do not know and cannot begin to imagine the extent of the infrastructure (people and technology) they are going to need in order to do a particular IT project.

Thankfully, nowadays, cloud makes this part easier.

As I mentioned, there is also the component of experience. Some IT project managers and their teams do not have the necessary experience. The tragic thing is that, frequently, they do not realize this fact.

Indeed, they undertake a new project and chances are they have never done anything like this before. Because, if they had, they wouldn’t need to undertake it. They would already have it completed and waiting to be sold.

The problem with the lack of experience is that the IT team ends up doing research and development instead of being productive.

And the problem with research and development is that there is no way of knowing one of the most important attributes (project management wise) for each task: the time it needs to be done.

And with no knowledge of the time each task needs to be completed, project management tends to be a moot point, at least with the project management techniques humanity has devised so far.

The issue of the lack of knowledge concerning the time each task needs is also addressed in my book titled “An Original Look at Ordinary Life”.

About Dimitrios Kalemis

I am a systems engineer specializing in Microsoft products and technologies. I am also an author. Please visit my blog to see the blog posts I have written, the books I have written and the applications I have created. I definitely recommend my blog posts under the category "Management", all my books and all my applications. I believe that you will find them interesting and useful. I am in the process of writing more blog posts and books, so please visit my blog from time to time to see what I come up with next. I am also active on other sites; links to those you can find in the "About me" page of my blog.
This entry was posted in Management. Bookmark the permalink.